Gluten-Free & Vegan Gefilte Fish for Passover

Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Fish-Free, Gluten-Free, Holidays, Vegan

gluten-free-vegan-gefilte-fishI’ll be honest. I hate gefilte fish—vegan, gluten-filled, or not. It all began two Passovers ago when I made gluten-free gefilte fish and it spilled all over my brand new car. No, it hasn’t ever smelled right since. So when I saw a recipe for vegan gefilte fish, I thought, “What’s the worst that could happen?”

So I played around with this vegan recipe and made it gluten-free as well, and voila! Completely non-traditional seder food. As someone who does—under non-gefilte fish conditions—prefer to keep it as traditional as possible, I have to say that I would rather eat this vegan, gf version any Passover of the year. Plus, it’s super easy.

Yehuda has been killing it with the gluten-free matzo for awhile now –

gluten-free, vegan passoverSo the gluten-free types have been able to enjoy the season for several years already.

As far as the vegan portion, well, I don’t know what that weird jelly is when you buy gefilte fish, but I’m very happy to not have that at my table tonight. Removing the egg for stick-to-it-ness did not seem to effect the final shape of the GFV gefilte either. Which should look like this before you put them in the pot—

gluten-free-vegan-passoverBut you really do need to watch the clock when you’re cooking, one minute too long and they will fall apart. And since I actually prefer potatoes, parsnips and cauliflower to white fish, well, the vegan’izing of this dish was a-OK with me. Better than OK since I actually ate this version. Now, let’s get on with the hiding of the (gluten-free) matzo!

Happy Pesach!

Here’s how you do it up:

Advertisements